Congratulations to the fall sports teams on a great season! 

The outstanding performances of many individuals contributed to the overall success of the teams this year, and these accomplishments were recognized at the Fall Sports Awards night on Nov. 5.

Season highlights included sectional title wins for both the girls and boys soccer teams and two girls cross-country runners, Clara Lind and Teresa Ross-Richer, advancing to regionals. Junior Sadie Brenneman set a new all-time kills record and senior Jadyn Kaufmann broke the career assists record for volleyball, and the boys tennis team finished with a winning record for the first time in several years. Congratulations, athletes!

One of the qualities recognized in Bethany athletes is sportsmanship: players who exemplify the spirit of positive competition and represent Bethany well in the community as they compete. Sportsmanship award winners are pictured here, and see below for a complete list of award winners.

Sportsmanship award winners (L to R): Kelby Youngberg, Caleb Shenk, Emma Thomas, Trami Nguyen, Lucas Klopfenstein. Not pictured: Naomi Torres

Boys Soccer

Sportsmanship: Lucas Klopfenstein
MVP: Alann Torres
Offensive: Omar Gonzalez
Defensive: Beck Willems
Most Improved: Colin Ward
JV MVP: Joey Mujica
JV Most Improved: Avery Rusel

Northern Indiana Soccer Conference Awards:
1st team: Allan Torres, Omar Gonzalez
2nd team: Sam Ostergren, Lucas Klopfenstein, Colin Ward

ISCA 1st Team All-District 1: Alann Torres
ISCA Top Team Award: Lucas Klopfenstein

Girls Soccer

Sportsmanship: Emma Thomas
Clutch Player: Katie Sauder
Most Improved: Naomi Klassen
Goal of the Year: Reyna King
Resilience: Emma Thomas

All-District 2nd Team: Caroline Cartmel

Northern Indiana Soccer Conference Awards:
1st team: Caroline Cartmel, Emma Thomas, Mackenzie Mast, Katie Sauder
2nd team: Sarah Hochstetler, Rilynn Kaufmann, Reyna King, Karina Kern

ICGSA Academic All-State Honorable Mention: Sarah Hochstetler
ISCA Academic All-State: Caroline Cartmel, Naomi Klassen, Rilynn Kaufmann
ISCA Top Team Award: Emma Thomas


Sportsmanship: Caleb Shenk
MVP: Nathan Oostland
Most Improved: Xudong Sun
JV MVP: Theo Siemens-Rhodes

Academic All-state: Caleb Shenk
Academic All-state Honorable mention: Nathan Oostland

Boys Cross Country

Sportsmanship: Kelby Youngberg
MVP: Kelby Youngberg

Girls Cross Country

Sportsmanship: Naomi Torres
MVP: Clara Lind

IATCCC Academic All-State First Team: Clara Lind
ICGSA Academic All-State: Clara Lind; Honorable Mention: Sasha Dyck, Luisa Dutchersmith


Sportsmanship: Trami Nguyen
MVP Offense: Sadie Brenneman
MVP Defense: Eva Sargent
Pursuit Award: Jadyn Kaufmann
Coaches’ Award: Mariah Miller

ICGSA Academic All-State Honorable Mention: Eva Sargent and Jadyn Kaufmann
IHSVCA Academic All-State: Jadyn Kaufmann